The average shelf-life for a book (even a bestseller) is a year, so it was awesome to find this review of This Ramshackle Tabernacle almost 2 years after its publication in June 2010.

Steph VanderMeulen, over at Bella’s Bookshelves had this to say about TRT:

__________

“This is a powerful book. It deserves much more attention than it’s had, though it’s not been ignored, either, having reaped positive reviews and also been a finalist for both the 2010 Winterset Award and the 2011 ReLit Award for Short Fiction.

“The book’s certainly had much attention from me. As I did with This Cake is for the Party, I got intimate with it: I brushed my teeth in front of it, I sweated on the treadmill with it, I ate cottage cheese and tomato and crackers and peanut butter with it; I spattered pickle juice on it. I dogeared the pages, I folded them backwards over the spine as I read. I flattened the spine, I shoved the book in my bag every morning and after every time I’d sneaked a few minutes with it at work. I slept with it by my side. I loved this book, for so many reasons, but mainly because while I was reading it I was deeply moved, so much so that sometimes I had to put it down after a story, only for a minute or two, to digest what I’d just read and quietly admire (er, and resent!) Martin’s skills. In Salty Ink, Chad Pelley, fellow East Coaster and author of Away from Everywhere […], wrote of This Ramshackle Tabernacle: ‘A compelling [collection]. It is emotionally engaging and impressively written. [This] book will rattle you.’

“For once an endorsement is absolutely true. (Actually, they all are in this case.) The book did rattle me. I was disturbed and uncomfortable reading some of it, but it was a good kind of disturbed, the kind that makes you admire the writer’s ability and skill, that compels you to keep reading.”

Read the whole review here.

Comments
  1. Steph says:

    Haha! Thanks for liking how messy I was with your book.

    Oh Sam. I loved it. It will definitely be one I read more than once. And that is saying a lot.

    Thank you for writing it.

  2. Steph says:

    PS. The beauty of being so far behind in reviewing copies is precisely that: that an older book (though yours is not that old) gets attention after the release hype. I always say I don’t sell bestsellers, I sell backlist. And you know, that to me is much more valuable.

Leave a Reply

