Fogo Island Writer Residency

Posted: December 12, 2011 in Dark Art Cafe

Dear Reader,

It has been a while since you have heard from me but I’ve been pretty busy getting my first novel A Blessed Snarl edited and off to press. It should be coming out, hopefully, in February or March of 2012. But if you want a sneak peek at what it’s about you can read two chapters that have been published as the short stories “Creosote Madonna” in Riddle Fence (Issue 10) and “Running the Whale’s Back” in Image (issue 72, forthcoming).

In the meantime, I just received news that I will be one of the first writers-in-residence at the Bridge Studio in Deep Bay, Fogo Island (off the north coast of Newfoundland). The residency is from April to June of 2012 and I will be working on a new novel project entitled Oden’s Eyes.

This novel will see the revival of one of the characters from This Ramshackle Tabernacle  and it will deal, in some way, with Norwegian Death Metal, drug-running, old Norse Sagas, and life in contemporary Newfoundland. Sorry, I can’t say much more. But if you are interested in an extreme vacation, the studio is open to the public one day a week. So you can visit Fogo Island, see one of the four corners of the world (according to the Flat Earth Society), and drop by to ask me what I’m up to.

Adieu,

Sam

Comments
  1. Jonathan says:

    This all sounds greta, Samuel! Are the photos in this post the actual place you will be staying?

    Jonathan.

  2. Yes, the photos are of the studio in Deep Bay. I’ll be blogging about it and posting my own photos of the place and surrounding areas while I’m there.

  3. evertonmclean says:

    Sam,

    Glad to hear your writing career is booming. What a place to write! Looking forward to the blogs.

    • Everton, It’s good to hear from you! How is life in NB? I’m really looking forward to Fogo and to writing the blog posts while there. Will try to keep you posted here and on FB. All my best!

Leave a Reply

